Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Deerhunter - Halcyon Digest (2010)

  1. "Earthquake" – 5:00
  2. "Don't Cry" – 2:49
  3. "Revival" – 2:13
  4. "Sailing" – 5:00
  5. "Memory Boy" – 2:09
  6. "Desire Lines" – 6:44
  7. "Basement Scene" – 3:41
  8. "Helicopter" – 4:58
  9. "Fountain Stairs" – 2:38
  10. "Coronado" – 3:19
  11. "He Would Have Laughed" – 7:29
It's Bradford Cox's new release under the Deerhunter monikor, Halcyon Digest, and it pretty well sums up Cox's musical ambitions. I feel like too often his music gets tossed into the generic Pitchfork media/indie rock generic pile of releases for those with too short an attention span. His off-kilter persona and prominent fame on the world wide web may give off this vibe, but his music cannot be tossed aside like the majority of bands he is grouped with. The sound travels all over the place, but keeps a relatively similar feel throughout. His music can put me in a warm mood similar to that which the Velvet Underground evokes. Anyhow, I think this is his best work so far, so check it out in the comments.

The Secret Generator Series: Deerhunter from Yours Truly on Vimeo.

1 comment:

  1. http://www.mediafire.com/?37ck2hh36bvqmt5